The Meat in the Sandwich

middleI grew up smack dab in the middle of seven kids. That meant I often was too little to do what my big brother and sisters could do and too old to get away with what my younger brothers and sister could get away with. So I felt left out. But my mother, bless her heart, knew just what to say to make me feel better. She told me that because I was in the middle, I was the meat in the sandwich — and that’s the best part!

Mom didn’t go to college. She never took a psych class. She didn’t have to. Her human development and family studies education came from on-the-job training with seven kids and a farm.

I don’t know whether my siblings ever knew about my special status, and I don’t particularly care. To my mom I was the meat in the sandwich and that’s all that matters to me.

Laura Sternweis

Leave a Reply

