Up and Down

yoy0I keep my circa 1974 Genuine Duncan Gold Award yo-yo as a reminder that life has its ups and downs. That, and it’s still fun to play with once in a while. (Note to self: Tie a bigger finger loop in the original string. These days the loop that fit my finger in sixth grade is a bit tight.)

I’m not much of a yo-yo-er. Usually I can lower and raise my Gold Award only three or four times before it drops to the end of the string, hovering near my ankles. No amount of yanking will cajole that yo-yo back up the string into my hand. So I pick up the yo-yo with my left hand, hold it steady, and with my right hand rewind the string around the yo-yo’s center core. Then I try yo-yo-ing again. And I might yo-yo with success four or five or even six times before the orb drops to the end of the string, waiting to be rewound one more time.

However, what I lack in prowess, I make up for in effort. Sort of like I do in life, with all its ups and downs.

Laura Sternweis

Leave a Reply

