Requiem for My Sunbird

with-sunbirdTwenty-five years ago I bid my Sunbird goodbye. As a new mom with a sweet baby and an awkward car seat, my relationship with my two-door, compact car had irrevocably changed. Getting that car seat into the back seat simply was a pain in the ass.

Six years earlier I’d purchased my 1986 Pontiac Sunbird brand new from the dealership. It only had 12 original miles on the odometer when I drove it off the lot.

But I’d brought my sweet baby home from the hospital after nearly 24 hours of labor, 2 hours of pushing, and an emergency C-section. For all the trouble it took to bring him into this world, I wanted to be able to transport him safely around town.

My husband and I received $700 for my Sunbird, which we used toward the purchase of a year-old Buick station wagon. That car had plenty of room for sweet baby’s car seat and all his accompanying accouterment.

A lot can happen in 25 years. No doubt my Sunbird eventually ended up in an auto scrap yard. But my sweet baby has grown up to become a fine young man. All in all, it was a pretty good trade.

Laura Sternweis

One thought on “Requiem for My Sunbird

  1. Laura,
    We had a an 85′ and I joke with the girls that it was lucky that I was skinny getting the babies in and out of the back seat. That was our first brand new car, which didn’t prove to be as glorious as we hoped, but we drove it all the way to the scrap heap and started buying used again.
    Next we bought a Chevy Lumina van from a small car dealer for $10,500 with the profits from the sale of our first house. This was one of the scariest purchases for me. We found out the Catholic Diocese owned it previously, it was truly blessed! I hauled 7 passengers to many practices and It was the first vehicle for our oldest daughter.
    It is fun how much we associate times in our lives with our cars. I wish that I was skinny again, but now the babies are having babies and that makes me forget about that most of the time!

    LDM

    Like

Leave a Reply

